Immersion

Taking Spanish, I have been told that the only way I will fully know the language is to travel to a country where Spanish is the primary language, and live there for at least a few months. That forces me to use the language all the time, for every interaction, and for every transaction. I need to immerse myself to become fluent.

And I learned from a friend who took Philosophy that some old man with wrinkles once stated that the only way to fully know something is to both read about it, but you also have to go out and experience it. And we discussed in class about how Dillard did exactly that. She went out and wrote about the things that she experienced in nature, but she didn’t stop there. She actually researched these different topics top incorporate facts into her writing. Based on that old guy’s rules she really knew her stuff.

Immersion

Eri Schlosser is doing exactly that in his writing. Through his chapters, he is dipping the reader into these topics like I would dip a nacho chip into some nacho cheese . If we as the reader are the chip, then all we can sense at the POI (point of immersion) is Eric’s cheesy information. We’re being overcome by the smells that he invokes, and the tastes that we relate to those smells.

That sounds confusing.

Basically, he’s putting us into the subject he is writing about. Right now it’s the slaughter houses. We’re learning all there is to know by actually being put inside this topic, and then we decide what to thin on our own.

This style of rhetoric is important because it makes me as the reader feel that I am making up my own ind on what to think about what Eric is presenting me. I don’t feel that he is shoving this stuff down my throat at all, but that he is giving me dish after dish (or in this case burger after burger) and that it is my decision to accept them and taste them for myself and think of it how I would like. This falls into the section of Ethos. If he ever started to force us into believing what he thinks, instead of just offering an argument and letting us interpret it, the we might start resenting him, and we would stop listening to what he has to say, therefore he would lose all credibility. But he doesn’t do that, so I still like him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Immersion

  1. SRM says:

    Yes, immersion is a key to the reading and the rhetorical effect of the book. Remember to show a particular passage you are reading, look at it more closely–this will be important for the writing project.

Leave a comment